Dr. Harisingh Gour University, Sagar University




 Department of Political Science and Public Administration


         The Department of Political Science and Public Administration has been functioning since 1946. The department has rich tradition of academic excellence in the field of Political Science and Public Administration and has produced many stalwarts in the discipline. The chair of Head of the Department has been occupied by distinguished scholars such as Dr. Ganesh Prasad, Dr. R.P. Argal, Dr. S.C. Singh, Prof. M.P. Sharma, Prof. Amresh Awasthi, Prof. R.P. Shrivastava, Prof. R.C. Dubey, Prof. S.S. Sodhi, Dr. S.B. Shrivastava, Prof. G.P. Nema, Prof. R.P. Goutam, Prof S. J. Singh and Dr Anupma Kaushik.  The department has produced five D.Litt. and more than three hundred Ph.D. The department has executed a series of empirical research projects in the field of voting behaviour and human rights and has tried to relate the research programme to the needs of country. The department has organized national seminars and an institute in Political Science for teachers in universities and colleges. It has also organized five refresher courses. The department has produced thirty five text books, five project reports and four minor research projects. The department has started 'Dialogue: A lecture Series' since January 2014 when Dr Anupma Kaushik assumed the charge of Head of Department. The first lecture was delivered by Prof S D Muni of JNU on 'India’s Foreign Policy' on 28.2.2014. The second lecture was delivered by Prof Priyankar Upadhyay of BHU on 'Peace and Conflict Resolution: An Indian Perspective' on 24.7.2014. The  third lecture was delivered by Prof Tomar of Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith on 'Current Perspective of Indian Politics' on 3. 11.2014. The fourth lecture was delivered by Prof Suraj Jacob on 'Political Mobilisation in Bundelkhand Region: A Comparision between UP and MP regions of Bundelkhand' on 10.12.15. The department has also organised Student Parliament on 17.11.14. Department has also started a series of annual 'Student Workshop' to generate awareness and develop skills among students regarding various career options before them. The first workshop was organised on 14- 15 January 2015 on ' Introducing Media'. The second workshop for students on 'Preparation for UGC- NET and JRF' was organised on 27.3.2015. Third workshop on Gender issues will be organized on 28-28 January 2016. The department has also started an 'Edutainment Series' ie education through entertainment in which a movie is shown to the students followed by a discussion on the theme. The first movie to be screened was 'Gandhi' on 31 January 2015 and second was 'Mary Kom' on International Women's Day on 9.3.2015, third movie to be screened was national awrad winning movie 'Lage Raho Munna Bhai' on 8.10.15 which gives the message of Mahatma Gandhi in a very interesting manner. The students and faculty members of the department also visited five villages adopted by the university under Unnat Bharat Abhiyan and spoke to villagers and Panchayat members  and Sarpanch on Good Governance. The department also celebrated Youth Day on 12.1.15 by organizing, Debate competition, Essay competition and screening of a documentary on Swami Vivekanand. The teachers of the department have published several books and articles in various esteemed journals and Head of Department Dr Anupma Kaushik has visited countries like UK, Sweden, Denmark, Thailand, Bangladesh and Nepal on academic assignments. Students of the department have qualified UGC NET, SLET and received Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship and UGC JRF. Many have also cleared MPPCS. Alumni’s of the department have been Members of Parliament, Professors, IAS, and officers in armed forces and police.

Courses offered:

1-      B.A. (six semester)

2-      M.A. in Political Science (four semesters)

3-      M.A.  in Public Administration (four semesters)

4-      Ph. D. (with one semesters coursework)


1- Dr Anupma Kaushik, Associate Professor and Head

2- Dr Neha Niranjan, Assistant Professor

3- Dr Janardan, Assistant Professor

4- Dr Afreen Khan, Assistant Professor              



Faculty Details

*To view profile click on name
Name E-Mail Phone Mobile
kaushikanupma@yahoo.co.in 07582264225 09575456935
Dr Neha Niranjan
nehaniranjan30@gmail.com 07582264225 09425742441
Dr Janardan
janardanjnu@gmail.com 07582264225 09669498107
Dr Afreen Khan
drafreen2012@gmail.com 07582264225 09165577280


Dr. Anupma Kaushik

I/C Head of the Department

Phone No.: 07582- 264225